Monuments and Canyons Painting Event

2022 Monuments and Canyons Painting Event

October 2nd - October 9th, 2022

Call for Entry is Now Closed


Monuments and Canyons Exhibition of Art

"Quiet Towers" by Artist John Phillips

The Colorado National Monument Association (CNMA) and the Art Center of Western Colorado, present an exhibition with 21 juried artists who participated in the 2021 Monuments and Canyons Plein Air Event.

The exhibit will take place March 4th – April 9th, 2022 at the Art Center of Western Colorado, 1803 N. 7th Street, Grand Junction, CO 81501.

The Colorado National Monument Association invited over 20 local, regional, and nationally known artists to paint in and around Colorado National Monument during the week of September 26th – October 3rd, 2021.  All of the artists created works of art, outside on the spot.  Now these artists are invited back for an exhibition of epic proportions. Since the outdoor painting event in Fall, each of the artists have had time at home to create 2 works of art in their studios inspired by their time exploring our geologic gem in Western Colorado. A portion of all sales will go to help the Colorado National Monument’s educational, interpretive, and scientific programs, park projects, as well as the junior ranger program..  100% of CNMA’s proceeds stay in Colorado National Monument.  

The opening reception will be held Friday, March 4th - 6:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.

Currently, masks are required at the Art Center of Western Colorado

Participating Artists:

Anita Winter, Lori Batson, Betsy Menand, Charles Morris, Chris Kolupski, Charlotte Quist, Dan Logé, Jason McCullough, Kari Ganoung Ruiz, Kathleen Lanzoni, Laura Gable, Loren Eakins, Marilynn Brandenburger, Marko Marino, Monica Esposito, Maggie Cook, Rachel Pettit, Philip Carlton, John Phillips, Susan Mayfield, Susie Hyer

www.gjartcenter.org


Image
Pristine Viewpoint, Independence Rock, by 2020 M&C artist Laura Gable

Sponsored by:

The 2021 Monuments and Canyons Plein Air Invitational September 26th through October 3rd Wrap Up.

The Colorado National Monument Association invited 22 local, regional, and nationally known artists to paint in and around Colorado National Monument during the week of September 26th – October 3rd. This year's event was our 2nd highest grossing in the show's history. The first year being 2019 before COVID-19. We were thrilled to get back to exhibiting and meeting in person. Below are the award results as well as photos from the event itself.

This year the event will be followed by a month-long exhibit in March, 2022.  The artists will be invited back to exhibit studio pieces inspired from their time here in the Fall.  The Colorado National Monument Association is happy to partner with the Grand Junction Art Center which will host the show in March. More information to come soon!

2021 AWARDS, given by judge Lanny Grant:

1st Place Award Sponsored by Family Health West

Subtle Sentinel Sunrise- by Kari Ganoung Ruiz

2nd Place Award Sponsored by Quick Temps, LLC

A Complement of Autumn- by Susie Hyer

3rd Place Award Sponsored by Lithic Bookstore and Gallery

Forever Friends- by Chris Kolupski

Honorable Mentions:

The Ascent- by Dan Logé

Island Morning- by Kari Ganoung Ruiz

Morning's Monuments- by Susie Hyer

When it Happens- by Chris Kolupski

More images from the amazing week. All photos taken by Christine Gearhart.

Artist Jason McCullough

Artist John Phillips

Artist Monica Esposito

Lanny Grant Judges the Show

People's Choice Award- Artist John Phillips

Artists' Choice Award- Artist Kari Ganoung Ruiz

2021 Monuments and Canyons Plein Air Invitational Artists:

Lorie Merfeld-Batson  www.loriemerfeld-batson.com 

Westcliffe, CO

Susie Hyer www.susiehyerstudio.com

Evergreen, CO

Don Miskin  www.donmiskin.com 

Logan, UT 

Laura Gable  www.lauragable.com 

Kennewick, WA 

Betsy Menand  www.betsymenand.com 

Ohio City, CO

Monica Esposito  www.monicaespositoart.com 

Whitewater, CO

Marko Marino  www.markomarino.com 

Cedaredge, CO

John Phillips  www.johndavidphillips.com 

Grand Junction, CO

Chris Kolupski  www.chriskolupski.com  

Rochester, NY

Loren Eakins  www.loreneakins.com 

Grand Junction, CO

Charlotte Quist  www.charlottequistart.com 

Dillon, MT

Philip Alexander Carlton  www.pacarlton.com 

Fruita, CO

Dan Loge  www.danloge.com 

Gand Junction, CO

Maggie Cook  www.maggiecook.com 

Grand Junction, CO

Anita Winter  www.anitawinter.com 

Centennial, CO

Scott Geary  www.artmajeur.com/scottgeary

Santa Fe, NM

Susan Mayfield  www.susanmayfield.net 

Salida, CO

Kari Ganoung Ruiz  www.kariganoungruiz.com 

Interlaken, NY

Jason McCullough  www.jasondmccullough.com 

Wheat Ridge CO

Charles Morris  www.charlesmorrisartstudio.com 

Grand Junction, CO

Denise Gilroy  www.denisegilroy.com 

Naples, ID