Monuments and Canyons Plein Air Invitational!

Image
Pristine Viewpoint, Independence Rock, by 2020 M&C artist Laura Gable

Sponsored by:

The 2021 Monuments and Canyons Plein Air Invitational will take place September 26th through October 3rd.

The Colorado National Monument Association has invited 22 local, regional, and nationally known artists to paint in and around Colorado National Monument during the week of September 26th – October 3rd. All artists will be creating works of art, outside or “en plein air.” Friday, Oct 1st – Sunday, Oct 3rd all artists will display the work they created during the week at the Carlson Vineyards Tasting Room. Friday night will be a sponsor/members preview night before the event opens to the public on
Saturday, Oct 2nd. If you are not a member of the association, tickets to Friday night’s opening event can be purchased for $30 each and includes a Chinle level membership to the CNMA. A portion of all sales will go to help the Colorado National Monument Association’s youth educational programs and ranger talks at the visitor center. 100% of CNMA’s proceeds stay in Colorado National Monument.

Schedule of Events:

Sunday, September 26th: – Artists arrive.

Monday, September 27th – Friday, October 1st: Artists will paint in and around Colorado National Monument.

Wednesday, September 29th @ 8:30 a.m. – 11 a.m.: Group paint out. Artists will meet at the Saddlehorn picnic area and will paint some of the best views of Monument Canyon. Public encouraged to attend! Please respect social distancing.

Thursday, September 30th @ 8:30 a.m. - 11 a.m.: Group paint out. Artists will meet at the Devil's Canyon trailhead in McInnis Canyons National Conservation Area, south of Fruita. Public encouraged to attend! Please respect social distancing.

Friday, October 1st @ 5:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.: Members and sponsor preview night, and awards ceremony. Free admission for all sponsors and members of the CNMA. Non-member tickets: $30 (Includes a Chinle level membership with the Colorado National Monument Association.)

Saturday, October 2nd @ 9:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.: Exhibition open to high risk individuals.

Saturday, October 2nd @ 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.: Exhibition open to the public.

Sunday, October 7th, @ 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.: Exhibition open to the public.

This year the event will be followed by a month-long exhibit in March, 2022.  The artists will be invited back to exhibit studio pieces inspired from their time here in the Fall.  The Colorado National Monument Association is happy to partner with the Grand Junction Art Center which will host the show in March.

2021 Monuments and Canyons Plein Air Invitational Artists:

Lorie Merfeld-Batson  www.loriemerfeld-batson.com 

Westcliffe, CO

Susie Hyer www.susiehyerstudio.com

Evergreen, CO

Don Miskin  www.donmiskin.com 

Logan, UT 

Laura Gable  www.lauragable.com 

Kennewick, WA 

Betsy Menand  www.betsymenand.com 

Ohio City, CO

Monica Esposito  www.monicaespositoart.com 

Whitewater, CO

Marko Marino  www.markomarino.com 

Cedaredge, CO

John Phillips  www.johndavidphillips.com 

Grand Junction, CO

Chris Kolupski  www.chriskolupski.com  

Rochester, NY

Loren Eakins  www.loreneakins.com 

Grand Junction, CO

Charlotte Quist  www.charlottequistart.com 

Dillon, MT

Philip Alexander Carlton  www.pacarlton.com 

Fruita, CO

Dan Loge  www.danloge.com 

Gand Junction, CO

Maggie Cook  www.maggiecook.com 

Grand Junction, CO

Anita Winter  www.anitawinter.com 

Centennial, CO

Scott Geary  www.artmajeur.com/scottgeary

Santa Fe, NM

Susan Mayfield  www.susanmayfield.net 

Salida, CO

Kari Ganoung Ruiz  www.kariganoungruiz.com 

Interlaken, NY

Jason McCullough  www.jasondmccullough.com 

Wheat Ridge CO

Charles Morris  www.charlesmorrisartstudio.com 

Grand Junction, CO

Denise Gilroy  www.denisegilroy.com 

Naples, ID